More
    Financial AdvisorsBest HELOC Lenders Compared: Rates, Fees, and Fit for 2026

    Best HELOC Lenders Compared: Rates, Fees, and Fit for 2026

    Categories

    By Staff Writer, Finance Fundamentals. Reviewed for accuracy by Sana Qureshi. This article covers U.S. home equity lines of credit generally; rules, licensing, and rate caps vary by state, so confirm terms with a lender licensed in your state before applying.

    Quick answer

    For most homeowners with strong credit and equity above $100,000, Third Federal Savings and PenFed Credit Union currently offer the most competitive combination of rate and low fees among lenders we reviewed. If speed matters more than rock-bottom pricing, Figure can fund in under two weeks with no traditional appraisal. There is no single “best” HELOC lender for everyone. The right one depends on your credit score, your state, and how fast you need the money.

    A homeowner in Ohio with $180,000 in home equity and a 740 credit score can walk away from two different HELOC applications with monthly payments that differ by more than $60, simply because one lender charges a $275 annual fee and prices its margin half a point tighter than the other. That gap compounds over a ten-year draw period into thousands of dollars. Shopping a HELOC by rate alone, without checking fees, draw-period length, and repayment structure, is how people overpay.

    The national average HELOC rate stood at 7.43% as of July 15, 2026, according to Bankrate’s weekly survey of large home equity lenders, with individual offers spanning roughly 3.99% to 11.80% depending on credit profile, state, and loan-to-value ratio. That spread is wide enough that picking the wrong lender can cost more than picking the wrong rate lock on a mortgage.

    How We Scored These HELOC Lenders

    We compared lenders on five factors that actually move your monthly payment and your flexibility, not marketing claims.

    • Rate competitiveness: how the lender’s advertised range compares to the national average.
    • Fee structure: annual fees, origination charges, and early-closure penalties.
    • Draw period and repayment terms: how long you can borrow and how long you have to pay it back.
    • Credit and equity requirements: minimum score and maximum combined loan-to-value (CLTV).
    • Underwriting speed and documentation flexibility: including how each lender treats self-employed or variable income.

    None of these lenders paid for placement here. We pulled current terms from each lender’s own disclosure or rate pages and from Bankrate’s lender-specific reviews, cross-checking figures where more than one source was available.

    Disclaimer: This article is for general information only and is not financial, legal, or tax advice. HELOC terms, rates, and eligibility rules change frequently and vary by state and by your individual credit file. Verify current terms directly with any lender, and consider talking to a licensed mortgage professional or fee-only financial advisor before signing loan documents.

    Best HELOC Lenders at a Glance

    Here is how the seven lenders we reviewed stack up on the terms that matter most.

    LenderDraw / RepaymentMin. Credit ScoreMax CLTVAnnual Fee
    Figure~5 yr / varies~600–640~85%None stated
    FourLeaf FCU (formerly Bethpage FCU)10 yr / 20 yr670 (720 for intro rate)Not disclosedNone
    PenFed Credit Union10 yr / 20 yr68085%$99 (from year 1)
    PNC Bank10 yr / up to 30 yrNot disclosed89.9%$50 (waived TX)
    Third Federal Savings10 yr / 20 yr700Not disclosed$275
    TD Bank10 yr / varies62089.99%Yes (amount varies)
    Navy Federal Credit UnionUp to 20 yr / variesNot disclosed95%None stated

    The HELOC Lenders Worth Comparing

    Each profile below covers who the lender fits best, where it falls short, and roughly what it costs. Figures come from each lender’s own rate or disclosure pages and Bankrate’s lender reviews published in 2026.

    Figure: Best for Speed and Fully Online Underwriting

    Best for: Borrowers who want cash fast and are comfortable with an automated home valuation instead of a traditional in-person appraisal.
    Strengths: Figure advertises funding in as little as five days and describes itself as the top non-bank HELOC lender in the country by loan volume. The entire application runs online, and lines go up to $750,000.
    Limits: The draw period is shorter than most bank and credit union HELOCs, commonly structured around five years with fixed-rate draws rather than an open-ended variable line. Reviews put the minimum credit score somewhere in the 600–640 range, though the exact cutoff for your file depends on the state and property.
    Cost: No stated annual fee in most reviews, but the fixed-rate draw structure means you are locking a rate at the moment you pull funds, not floating with the market.
    Verdict: Good for a fast, one-time draw. Less useful if you want a long, reusable line of credit you can tap for years.

    FourLeaf Federal Credit Union (formerly Bethpage FCU): Best for No-Fee Structure

    Best for: Members who want a long draw period with genuinely no closing costs.
    Strengths: A ten-year interest-only draw period followed by twenty years to repay, no application, appraisal, origination, or closing costs, and introductory rates that Bankrate’s July 22, 2026 review described as up to two percentage points below the national average for qualifying borrowers.
    Limits: You need a 670 credit score to qualify at all, and 720 to unlock the introductory rate, which also requires a minimum $25,000 draw. Close the line within three years and you owe back the waived closing costs.
    Cost: No ongoing annual fee reported.
    Verdict: One of the stronger no-fee options for borrowers who clear the 720 threshold. Below that score, the appeal fades fast.

    PenFed Credit Union: Best for Fixed-Rate Flexibility

    Best for: Borrowers who want the option to lock part of their balance at a fixed rate without paying extra for it.
    Strengths: PenFed lets members convert up to three separate portions of their balance to a fixed rate during the draw period at no charge, in minimum $10,000 chunks, twice per year. Most closing costs are covered by the credit union.
    Limits: A $99 annual fee starts on your first anniversary, and you’re on the hook for the appraisal. Certain states (Florida, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, Tennessee, and Virginia) add state-specific taxes.
    Cost: $99/year plus appraisal costs; loan amounts run $25,000 to $500,000, capped at 85% CLTV.
    Verdict: A genuinely useful hybrid for anyone nervous about rate swings who still wants a revolving line. The annual fee is minor next to what a full fixed-rate second mortgage would cost in closing fees.

    PNC Bank: Best for Large, High-CLTV Lines

    Best for: Homeowners who want to borrow close to the top of their equity and need a large maximum line.
    Strengths: Combined loan-to-value up to 89.9% in most states, loan amounts up to $1,000,000, and a variable-to-fixed conversion option.
    Limits: PNC’s own disclosure lists a wide APR band, roughly 2.25% at the floor to 24% at the ceiling, which tells you almost nothing about what you’ll actually be offered; your real rate depends on the index, your margin, and your credit tier. An origination fee up to $499 applies in some states, and closing costs must be repaid if you close the account within 36 months.
    Cost: $50 annual fee (waived in Texas), plus possible origination and conversion fees.
    Verdict: Competitive for high-CLTV borrowing, but the fee stack is more complicated than PenFed’s or FourLeaf’s. Read the full disclosure before assuming the advertised floor rate applies to you.

    Third Federal Savings: Best for a Rate-Match Guarantee

    Best for: Borrowers with strong credit who want price certainty and are willing to pay a flat annual fee for it.
    Strengths: Third Federal prices its Equity Line of Credit around half a percentage point below prime and backs it with a “lowest rate guarantee”: if a competitor beats its rate, Third Federal says it will match it or pay you $1,000. No application, origination, or closing costs, and no prepayment penalty.
    Limits: A 700 minimum credit score and a flat $275 annual fee, which is the highest recurring fee among the lenders here. Maximum loan size tops out at $300,000, lower than PNC or FourLeaf.
    Cost: $275/year, otherwise fee-light.
    Verdict: The rate-match guarantee is a real differentiator, not marketing fluff, but the $275 fee only pays for itself if your balance is large enough that the rate difference outweighs it. On a small line, it can be a mediocre deal.

    TD Bank: Best for Existing TD Checking Customers

    Best for: Current TD Bank checking account holders in the Northeast and mid-Atlantic footprint.
    Strengths: A relatively low 620 minimum credit score and a rate discount for borrowers who keep a TD checking account and set up automatic payments.
    Limits: TD charges an annual fee, and its branch footprint limits access if you don’t already bank there. CLTV tops out around 89.99%.
    Cost: Annual fee applies; exact amount varies by market.
    Verdict: Fine as a convenience play for existing customers. Not a lender most people should seek out from scratch.

    Navy Federal Credit Union: Best for Military-Affiliated Borrowers

    Best for: Active-duty service members, veterans, DoD civilians, and their families.
    Strengths: The longest draw period on this list (up to twenty years) and CLTV up to 95%, higher than every bank or civilian credit union reviewed here.
    Limits: Membership eligibility is the hard wall. If you don’t qualify, none of these terms matter.
    Cost: No stated annual fee in available reviews; maximum loan amount around $500,000.
    Verdict: Arguably the strongest overall terms in this comparison, full stop. But it is only available to a fraction of the population, which is why it isn’t ranked first for “best overall.”

    Who These Lenders Are Wrong For

    A roundup like this can make every option sound reasonable. Some clearly are not, depending on your situation.

    • If your credit score is below 650, most of these lenders (FourLeaf, PenFed, Third Federal) will reject you outright. Figure’s lower published minimum is more realistic, but you’ll pay for it in rate.
    • If you need more than $500,000, PenFed and Navy Federal are off the table; PNC or FourLeaf fit better.
    • If you plan to close the account within two or three years, FourLeaf’s no-cost structure becomes a trap, and you’ll owe back the waived closing costs.
    • If you’re not a TD checking customer already, opening one just to get TD’s HELOC discount is not worth the hassle for most borrowers.
    • If you have no military affiliation, skip Navy Federal entirely rather than wasting time checking eligibility.

    How HELOC Draw Periods Compare

    Draw period length affects how long you can keep tapping the line before repayment kicks in. The chart below shows each lender’s maximum draw period against the ten-year period the CFPB describes as typical.

    Maximum draw period by lender (years)

    Figure: 5 years
    FourLeaf FCU: 10 years
    PenFed: 10 years
    PNC Bank: 10 years
    Third Federal Savings: 10 years
    TD Bank: 10 years
    Navy Federal: up to 20 years (longest)

    Dashed red top border marks lenders at the CFPB’s typical ten-year draw period benchmark. Navy Federal’s twenty-year maximum is highlighted in dark blue. Figures reflect published maximums as of mid-2026 and can vary by individual approval.

    A Decision Framework for Choosing Your HELOC

    Work through four questions in order, and most of the guesswork disappears.

    1. Do you qualify for a specialty lender? Military-affiliated households should check Navy Federal first — its terms are hard to beat if you’re eligible.
    2. How much do you need, and for how long? A large, long-term line points toward PNC or FourLeaf. A fast, one-time draw points toward Figure.
    3. Can your credit clear 700? If yes, Third Federal’s rate guarantee and PenFed’s fixed-rate option both become live options. If your score sits in the 650s or low 600s, your realistic shortlist shrinks to TD Bank or Figure.
    4. How is your income documented? Homeowners with steady W-2 income clear most underwriting without friction. Homeowners with self-employment income need a lender comfortable underwriting variable earnings and tax-return-based documentation, the same issue that comes up when someone shops for a mortgage lender for self-employed borrowers rather than a HELOC. Credit unions with in-house underwriting, like PenFed and FourLeaf, tend to have more flexibility here than large national banks.

    Worked example

    A borrower has a $400,000 home with a $250,000 first mortgage. Combined loan-to-value at 80% would allow total debt of $320,000, leaving roughly $70,000 in accessible equity for a HELOC. Suppose they draw $50,000 at the current national average rate of 7.43%.

    During the interest-only draw period: $50,000 × 7.43% ÷ 12 months = about $310 per month.

    Once repayment begins and the balance amortizes over 20 years at a similar rate, the payment rises to roughly $388 per month — about a 25% jump the borrower needs to budget for well before the draw period ends.

    Common Mistakes When Choosing a HELOC

    • Comparing only the advertised rate. Two lenders quoting the same rate can differ by hundreds of dollars a year once annual fees and origination costs are added in.
    • Ignoring the repayment-phase payment jump. An interest-only draw period payment is not what you’ll pay once amortization starts.
    • Assuming CLTV limits are fixed. Maximum CLTV varies by state even within the same lender: PNC advertises 89.9% in most states but caps at 80% in others.
    • Overlooking early-closure clawbacks. FourLeaf and similar no-fee lenders can require repayment of waived closing costs if you close the line early.
    • Treating credit union eligibility as a formality. Some credit unions have real membership requirements tied to employer, location, or family relationships to existing members, not just a token $5 deposit.
    • Not asking whether income can be verified with tax returns instead of pay stubs. This one detail disqualifies self-employed borrowers from otherwise-attractive lenders more often than credit score does.
    • Forgetting to check the lifetime rate cap. A low starting rate on a variable HELOC tells you almost nothing about your worst-case payment years into the draw period.

    What Underwriters and Fee-Only Advisors Actually Check

    Loan officers we’ve seen discuss HELOC files rarely start with the rate. They start with combined loan-to-value and debt-to-income ratio, because those two numbers determine whether the file clears underwriting at all. A fee-only advisor reviewing a HELOC offer for a client typically checks three things beyond the headline rate: whether the rate is capped (many variable HELOCs have a lifetime ceiling, and PNC’s disclosure shows just how high that ceiling can run), whether the line has a minimum draw or balance requirement that forces unnecessary borrowing, and whether the fixed-rate conversion option (if offered) locks in at a reasonable spread over the current variable rate.

    One judgment call worth stating plainly: for a borrower who doesn’t need the money immediately, waiting for a rate-lock window or a promotional fee waiver is often better than rushing into whichever HELOC closes fastest. Figure’s speed is a real advantage for someone facing a deadline, but for anyone without a deadline, that speed doesn’t offset weaker long-term terms compared to a ten-year credit union line.

    Lifetime rate caps deserve more attention than most borrowers give them. PNC’s disclosed range runs from roughly 2.25% at the floor to 24% at the ceiling. Almost nobody starts near either end, but that ceiling matters if the broader rate environment shifts sharply during a ten-year draw period. A borrower who locked a HELOC near the 2021 lows learned this the hard way once short-term rates climbed. Ask any lender for the specific cap and margin over the index, not just the current advertised rate, before signing.

    Advisors also flag a detail that rarely shows up in marketing copy: how a lender treats a HELOC that goes unused. Some plans require a minimum draw at closing or a minimum outstanding balance to avoid a maintenance fee, which quietly turns a flexible credit line into a forced loan. Ask this question directly during underwriting, not after the line is already open.

    Key Takeaways

    • The national average HELOC rate was 7.43% as of mid-July 2026, but individual offers range from under 4% to nearly 12% depending on credit and CLTV.
    • Fees matter as much as rate. A $275 annual fee at Third Federal or a $99 fee at PenFed changes the real cost more than a fraction of a percentage point in APR.
    • Draw period length varies from about five years (Figure) to twenty years (Navy Federal), so match it to how long you actually need access to the line.
    • Self-employed borrowers should confirm documentation flexibility before applying, not after a denial.
    • No lender on this list is the right choice for everyone. Eligibility, not preference, usually narrows the field first.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    What credit score do I need for a HELOC?
    Most lenders in this comparison require a minimum score between 620 and 700. FourLeaf and Third Federal sit at the higher end (670–700), while TD Bank and Figure accept lower scores, generally with a less favorable rate in exchange.

    How is a HELOC different from a home equity loan?
    A HELOC is a revolving line you draw against as needed, similar to a credit card secured by your home. A home equity loan disburses a lump sum upfront with a fixed repayment schedule from day one. HELOCs typically carry variable rates; home equity loans are usually fixed.

    Can self-employed borrowers get approved for a HELOC?
    Yes, but documentation requirements are stricter. Lenders generally want two years of tax returns and may average variable income rather than counting the most recent year at face value. Credit unions with in-house underwriting tend to offer more flexibility than large banks on this point.

    What happens when the draw period ends?
    You stop being able to withdraw new funds, and the outstanding balance begins amortizing over the repayment period, typically 15 to 20 years among the lenders reviewed here. Monthly payments usually rise noticeably at this transition, since interest-only payments give way to principal-plus-interest payments.

    Are HELOC rates fixed or variable?
    Most HELOCs use a variable rate tied to an index like the prime rate. Several lenders, including PenFed and PNC, allow borrowers to convert some or all of the balance to a fixed rate during the draw period, often for a fee or in limited increments.

    How much of my home equity can I actually borrow?
    Lenders cap borrowing at a maximum combined loan-to-value ratio, typically 80% to 95% depending on the lender and your credit profile. Subtract your existing mortgage balance from that CLTV limit to estimate what’s actually available to you.

    References

    • Bankrate, “Current HELOC Rates,” accessed July 2026: national average rate of 7.43% as of July 15, 2026.
    • Experian, “Average HELOC Balances Surpass $50K in 2026,” published June 29, 2026: average balance $52,347 and total outstanding HELOC debt of $427.6 billion as of March 2026.
    • Bankrate, FourLeaf Federal Credit Union home equity review, published July 22, 2026.
    • Bankrate, PenFed home equity review, published February 24, 2026.
    • Bankrate, PNC Bank home equity review, updated February 26, 2026.
    • Bankrate, Third Federal Savings and Loan home equity review, published July 7, 2026.
    • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, “What is a home equity line of credit (HELOC)?”, last reviewed June 27, 2024.

    Rates and terms above reflect a snapshot of publicly available disclosures in mid-2026. HELOC pricing changes with the broader interest-rate environment, so confirm current numbers directly with any lender before applying. A homeowner running these same numbers next year, with a different starting balance and a different average rate, will land on a different answer — which is exactly why the framework above matters more than any single rate quoted today.

    Sana Qureshi
    Sana Qureshi
    Sana Qureshi is a fintech and consumer-protection writer who teaches readers how the systems behind money actually work—and how to avoid their traps. Born in Karachi and raised in Leeds, Sana studied Information Systems and later completed a certification in financial compliance. She worked inside a fast-growing payments startup and then with a regional bank’s fraud team, where she designed onboarding flows, risk flags, and plain-language disclosures that real people could understand.Sana’s writing connects the dots between product design and your wallet: how overdraft policies really behave in 2025, the difference between soft and hard pulls, which alerts matter, and why security hygiene is about habits, not paranoia. She reverse-engineers fine print, maps data flows, and gives readers “good friction” checklists—two-factor setups, credit freezes, spend alerts—that reduce risk without turning life into an audit.She also compares everyday tools—debit vs. credit for travel, buy-now-pay-later vs. old-school layaway—and shows how to choose a stack that integrates cleanly. Off the page, Sana drinks too much chai, photographs rainy city streets, and teaches a quarterly workshop on digital self-defense for students and freelancers. Her north star: confidence comes from clarity, and clarity comes from seeing how the pipes are laid.

    LEAVE A REPLY

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Recent Posts

    More
      Attorney Opinion Letters vs. Title Insurance: Which Protects You?

      Attorney Opinion Letters vs. Title Insurance: Which Protects You?

      0
      The Verdict, Upfront If your closing is happening in Iowa or North Dakota, you don't really get to pick between an attorney opinion letter and...
      Title Insurance Waiver Pilot Programs: What Homebuyers and Lenders Need to Know

      Title Insurance Waiver Pilot Programs: What Homebuyers and Lenders Need to Know

      0
      Quick answer: A title insurance waiver pilot lets a mortgage borrower close on certain refinance, HELOC, or purchase loans without buying a traditional lender's...
      AVM Accuracy in Real Estate: A Decision Guide

      AVM Accuracy in Real Estate: A Decision Guide

      0
      Quick answer: An automated valuation model is usually close enough to trust for a home in a dense, recently-traded suburban tract, where the median...
      Appraisal Bias and AVMs: What Triggers the Valuation Gap

      Appraisal Bias and AVMs: What Triggers the Valuation Gap

      0
      Quick Answer Appraisal bias shows up as a measurable, repeatable gap: homes in majority-Black and majority-Latino census tracts come in below the contract price far...
      AI Mortgage Underwriting for Complex Borrowers: A 2026 Guide

      AI Mortgage Underwriting for Complex Borrowers: A 2026 Guide

      0
      Disclaimer: This article is for educational purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or lending advice. Underwriting rules, program guidelines, and automated system...

      More From Author

      More

        Bank Statement Loans for Self-Employed Buyers: How Qualifying Income Really Works

        Answer box: A bank statement loan lets a self-employed borrower qualify for a mortgage using 12 to 24 months of personal or business bank...

        Digital Asset Broker Reporting: Who Must File Form 1099-DA

        A brokerage that custodies digital assets for customers now has to treat those sales the way a stock brokerage treats an equity trade: track...

        Best Financial Planning Software for Consumers, Ranked 2026

        By the Finance Fundamentals Editorial Team. Reviewed for accuracy by a CFP® professional on our editorial advisory panel. This article covers software and pricing...

        Best Online Estate Planning Services, Compared for 2026

        By Felix Navarro. Reviewed by for legal accuracy. Finance Fundamentals editorial team. Estate law is state-specific. Notarization rules, witness counts, self-proving affidavit language, and...